Possession Charges in Kent County

Are you facing possession charges?

Have you recently been arrested for drug possession in Kent County? If so, you're going to want to do everything possible to fight your charges. As a Kent County criminal defense attorney with over 20 years of experience, I know how to effectively defend drug charges involving various types of controlled substances from marijuana to cocaine to prescription drugs.

While possession of a small amount of marijuana was virtually decriminalized in April of 2013, possession of other substances such as heroin can incurs serious fines and penalties in Rhode Island. When facing the possibility of years behind bars and thousands in fines, it's critical to engage an aggressive defense attorney such as myself, Steven J. Hart.

Contact a Kent County Criminal Defense Lawyer

There are various ways to challenge possession charges, one of which includes any possible violations to your search and seizure rights. I will carefully look into the facts of your case in order to search for any flaws or potential loopholes that may get evidence suppressed or your charges dropped.

If you are facing drug possession charges or charges for any other drug-related offense, I urge you to contact me, attorney Steven J. Hart immediately. 

Penalties for Possession in Kent County

Rhode Island establishes five (5) schedules for controlled substances known as Schedules I, II, III, IV, and V, with Schedule I substances having the highest potential for abuse and addiction, and having no recognized medical value. Under §21-28-4.01.1, it is unlawful for anyone to possess the following controlled substances:

Schedule I and II Controlled Substances (excluding marijuana)

  • Heroin – 1 oz. to 1 kg.
  • Cocaine
  • PCP – 1 gram to 10 grams
  • LSD – 0.10 to 1 gram

A violation of this section is punishable by a prison term up to 50 years, and a maximum fines of $500,000.

Penalties for Marijuana Possession (personal use)

  • Less than 1 oz. – civil offense, punishable by a maximum $150 fine
  • From 1 oz. to 1 kg – misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a maximum $500 fine

Marijuana Possession with the Intent to Distribute

  • Less than 1 kg – felony, punishable by 10 to 50 years in prison and a maximum $500,000 fine
  • Over 5 kg – felony, punishable by 25 years to life, and a maximum $100,000 fine

All Other Controlled Substances

The penalties for all other controlled substances include a minimum fine of $500 (up to $5,000), up to 3 years in prison, or both; 100 hours of community service, and; drug counseling and education program. Additionally, if the defendant transported a controlled substance in a motor vehicle, they face six months driver's license suspension (one year for second or subsequent convictions).

Contact me Today

At the Law Office of Steven J. Hart, I personalize my approach to each and every case I receive in order to get you the best results possible.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy