Possession Charges in Kent County
Are you facing possession charges?
Have you recently been arrested for drug possession in Kent County? If
so, you're going to want to do everything possible to fight your charges.
As a Kent County criminal defense attorney with nearly 15 years of experience,
I know how to effectively defend
drug charges involving various types of controlled substances from marijuana to cocaine
to prescription drugs.
While possession of a small amount of marijuana was virtually decriminalized
in April of 2013, possession of other substances such as heroin can incurs
serious fines and penalties in Rhode Island. When facing the possibility
of years behind bars and thousands in fines, it's critical to engage
an aggressive defense attorney such as myself, Steven J. Hart.
Penalties for Possession in Kent County
Rhode Island establishes five (5) schedules for controlled substances known
as Schedules I, II, III, IV, and V, with Schedule I substances having
the highest potential for abuse and addiction, and having no recognized
medical value. Under §21-28-4.01.1, it is unlawful for anyone to
possess the following controlled substances:
Schedule I and II Controlled Substances (excluding marijuana)
- Heroin – 1 oz. to 1 kg.
- PCP – 1 gram to 10 grams
- LSD – 0.10 to 1 gram
A violation of this section is punishable by a prison term up to 50 years,
and a maximum fines of $500,000.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession (personal use)
- Less than 1 oz. – civil offense, punishable by a maximum $150 fine
- From 1 oz. to 1 kg – misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and
a maximum $500 fine
Marijuana Possession with the Intent to Distribute
- Less than 1 kg – felony, punishable by 10 to 50 years in prison and
a maximum $500,000 fine
- Over 5 kg – felony, punishable by 25 years to life, and a maximum
All Other Controlled Substances
The penalties for all other controlled substances include a minimum fine
of $500 (up to $5,000), up to 3 years in prison, or both; 100 hours of
community service, and; drug counseling and education program. Additionally,
if the defendant transported a controlled substance in a motor vehicle,
they face six months driver's license suspension (one year for second
or subsequent convictions).
Contact a Kent County Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are facing drug possession charges or charges for any other drug-related
offense, I urge you to
contact me, attorney Steven J. Hart immediately. There are various ways to challenge
possession charges, one of which includes any possible violations to your
search and seizure rights. I will carefully look into the facts of your
case in order to search for any flaws or potential loopholes that may
get evidence suppressed or your charges dropped.