Kent County DUI Attorney
Help for DUI Charges in West Warwick and Kent County
As a driver in Rhode Island, by accepting your driver's license you
have given an "implied consent" to the state to be tested for
the presence of alcohol or drugs if a police officer suspects you of a
DUI or DWI. In Rhode Island, you will be charged with a DWI (driving while
intoxicated) if your blood alcohol level (BAC) is at .08 or higher. If
you are under 21, you can be charged with a DWI if your BAC is at .02
or higher. No matter whether you are facing a misdemeanor or
felony DUI, if you choose not to fight these charges, you face the possibility of
harsh consequences through the courts and the loss of your license.
DWI and DUI in Rhode Island
You do have the right to
fight the charges and defend yourself in court. With my help as a Kent County lawyer, you
may be able to avoid a conviction or minimize the penalties you may be
facing. If you are a first-time offender with a BAC of .08 to .10 you
face fines of up to $300, a suspended license for up to 6 months, a $50
reinstatement fee, jail time of up to one year, possibly 10 to 60 hours
of community service, a possible Highway Safety Assessment fee of $500,
and possible mandatory attendance in a driving school or alcohol treatment program.
The penalties become more severe for those convicted of a DWI with a BAC
between .10 and .15, those who are repeat offenders within 5 years, those
with a BAC over .20, those who were driving with a minor under the age
of 14 in the vehicle, those who were speeding as well as drug-impaired
or drunk driving, those who have caused an accident or traffic fatality
due to DWI or DUI, and anyone who refuses to take a chemical test.
Kent County DUI Attorney: Defending Your Rights
As your attorney in any DWI or DUI, I can investigate the case against
you, examining police reports, photos, witness testimony, and other evidence
to find facts and evidence in your favor. I can look for flaws, inconsistencies,
and any faulty or nonstandard procedure or actions taken by law enforcement.
I can negotiate with prosecutors and judges to have charges reduced or
penalties lessened. At all times, I will make every effort to secure the
most favorable result possible.
Facing a DWI or DUI charge?
Contact the Kent County DUI lawyer
at the firm for reliable and dedicated legal service now.